Archive for August, 2017

August 24, 2017

Becoming President of the United States

by Ed Chasteen

Five men have become President of the United States while losing the popular vote. John Quincy Adams, Rutherford B. Hayes, Donald Trump, Benjamin Harrison, George W. Bush all became President of the United States though each lost the popular vote. Donald Trump lost the popular vote by a margin greater than the other four combined.

Candidate                     Year                             losing margin

John Quincy Adams         1824                             -38, 221

Rutherford B Hayes         1876                                -252, 666

Benjamin Harrison             1888                                 -94, 530

George W. Bush                 2000                             -543, 816

Total votes by which these four lost                         929, 233


Trump                                2016                             -2, 864,974 votes by which Trump lost


This is a “greatest in history” crowd size Donald Trump could honestly claim.