Crossing Guard

by Ed Chasteen

My high School was on the corner, a street in front and one beside. The principal called me to his office one day and asked me to be the crossing guard. “Stand in the intersection and help our students cross the street.” Years later in another town my church was on a corner. They asked me to be their Ambassador to Other Communities of Faith. A crossing guard I had been; a bridge builder I became.

Now with immigrants and refugees much in the news, I offer to my nation my services as a crossing guard and an ambassador. Fort America turns us inward, makes us fearful, suspicious and aggressive, the Ugly American writ large. The same materials used to make walls can be used to build bridges. Walls cut off. Bridges open up.

Leave a Reply

