The Pedalin’ Prof From William Jewell College 2

Visits Greater Liberty

Box 442            Liberty, MO 64069            816-803-8371            hatebuster@aol.com

www.greaterliberty.org            www.hatebusters.com

https://hatebusters.wordpress.com

            If I don’t ride, I can’t walk. If I do, I can run. So I ride. A lot! More than 150,000 miles. And counting. But I need a reason to ride bigger than my personal health. For years at my college I taught my students how to like people who are not like them, folks of other races and religions, other cultures and creeds. My daughter now teaches at my college. I’m there now and then, making guest appearances here and there. But I’m free of responsibility. Free to ride.

            My college is in a town called Liberty. I love our town. I’ve ventured far from home in years past but wish now to be nearer home. I can ride my bike about 125 miles on my best days, so I drew a circle around Liberty going out 125 miles in all directions. I call this place Greater Liberty: up north to Creston, Iowa; down south to Carthage, Missouri; out west to Manhattan, Kansas, over east to Columbia, Missouri and including a small part of Nebraska.

            My dream now is to visit each of the 104 county-seat towns in Greater Liberty. I want to drive there in my bright red PT Cruiser. I call it the HateBuster Mobile, license # H8BSTR. I will bring my bicycle, park on the town square, and go for a ride a few miles from town in all directions, greeting everyone I see.

One summer I rode my bicycle, alone and without money, from Orlando to Seattle to Los Angeles—from Disney World to Disneyland. I found goodness and genius in every person I met and every place I went. I was inspired and encouraged.  I have since ridden my bike in more distant places: Australia, Africa, Canada, China, England, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand.  

            Now in Greater Liberty I want to ride. To the 104 county-seat towns named on the jersey I wear. I want to meet folks. I long to be invited to speak to civic clubs, schools, faith communities, businesses. Amazing things have happened to me on my bike. I have stories to tell.

            Invite me and I will come. The only payment I ask is your wish to hear me.

Great Things I Know

 Money is never the problem

The power of instant response

The power of the unexpected

To practice Audacious Asking

I can’t say no

The liberation of total dependence

Nothing is ever just coincidence

To go with first impressions

People and places are not to be compared

The need for roots

The need for wings

How blessed I am

I am my own doctor

I must be brave

I look for Dulcinea

Stories To Tell

 A Cross Is Burned in Our Town

A Klansman is elected

Alone and without money across America

High Noon Showdown with Midnight Hate

How To Like People Who Are not Like You

My Chinese Name

The Human Family Reunion

The Porcelain-Nitro People

The Power of Forgiveness

The White House Hate Crimes Conference

These Guys Are Nuts

When Your Community Calls You A Hero

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment